Legislation & Standards

The governments of the following countries have decided not to ban plastic, instead they have passed legislation making it mandatory to use biodegradable or crop-based plastic, or in some cases biodegradable plastic only.

This type of legislation supports the local plastic industries in the countries concerned and helps to secure the jobs and livelihoods of thousands of people worldwide.

Biodegradable Plastic only

(Plastic factories and brand owners cannot export to these countries unless their disposable plastic products contain biodegradable technology.)

  • Albania
  • Brazil (parts)
  • Ivory Coast
  • Jordan
  • Pakistan (parts)
  • Rwanda
  • Togo
  • Saudi Arabia
  • UAE
  • Yemen
Biodegradable and Hydro-biodegradable Plastic 

(In these countries the legislation specifies hydro technology. In practice,
biodegradable is often the preferred technology as it is cheaper to produce, more
flexible in most applications and it can be recycled.)

  • Argentina (parts)
  • Benin
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Burkina Faso
  • Croatia
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Kosovo
  • Macedonia
  • Mauritius
  • Montenegro
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia
  • Sudan