Legislation   –  (for Standards click on the link)

The governments of the following countries have decided not to ban plastic, instead they have passed legislation making it mandatory to use oxo-biodegradable or crop-based plastic, or in some case oxo-biodegradable plastic only.

This type of legislation supports the local plastic industries in the countries concerned and helps to secure the jobs and livelihoods of thousands of people worldwide.

Oxo-biodegradable Plastic only (Plastic factories and brand owners cannot export to these countries unless their disposable plastic products contain oxo-biodegradable technology.

  • Abania
  • Brazil (parts)
  • Ivory Coast
  • Jordan
  • Pakistan (parts)
  • Rwanda
  • Togo
  • Saudi Arabia
  • UAE
  • Yemen

Oxo-biodegradable and Hydro-biodegradable Plastic (In these countries the legislation specifies either oxo or hydro technology.  In practice, oxo-biodegradable is often the preferred technology as it is cheaper to produce, more flexible in most applications and it can be recycled.

  • Argentina (parts)
  • Benin
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Burkina Faso
  • Croatia
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Kosovo
  • Macedonia
  • Mauritius
  • Montenegro
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia
  • Sudan
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt